Classic Mustang General Discussion Make your non-Technical threads/posts in here.

How much do you think this would cost? (disc brake plumbing question)

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2009, 03:01 PM
lunarweasel
4th Gear Member

Default How much do you think this would cost? (disc brake plumbing question)

Got a quote from a very reliable and honest, but always a little more expensive mechanic for some work.

I want to install the CSRP KH kit on my 65. I will rebuild / reshoe the rear drums, new wheel cylinders too. I will install the master cylinder.

The mechanic would tweak (as I understand prebent lines need) the new front brake lines, install the proportioning valve, bleed everything, and then front to rear go through every inch of the install I just did to make sure it is done right (re: safe). I have never worked with brakes before, so the last step is important to me.

He is a very honest guy, and when I asked for a "decent" estimate, he said," I'd rather give you the worse case scenario so you can plan for the max amount." He said plan for $450-$500 to have everything perfect.

High / low?

---

PS - I know some of you will say just learn how to do the lines yourself but still get the guy to check everything when you are done. That is a viable option I am considering too, but I have limited time with my car (as it is stored 500 miles away) and want to just get it over with when I am up there.

Thanks in advance.
Old 02-09-2009, 03:11 PM
rmodel65
Yukon Cornelius

order a prebent lines kit and the front disc conversion and do it yourself for 450 you can upgrade to disc in the rear too nearly
Old 02-09-2009, 06:14 PM
JamesW

Assuming his shop rate is $50/hour, he's telling you it could take him up to a full day to complete the plumbing and inspection, and fix stuff. To do the plumbing and a thorough inspection shouldn't take a whole day. maybe 4-6 hours.

Ask him what it would cost to do the whole install....
Old 02-09-2009, 07:15 PM
lunarweasel
4th Gear Member