Classic Mustang General Discussion Make your non-Technical threads/posts in here.

Started taking some mechanics classes

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2010, 07:29 AM
69FB
4th Gear Member

Default Started taking some mechanics classes

I know I mentioned this time last year I was planning to take some mechanics classes since the company I work for now pays for anything.

Yesterday a Snap-on rep came and talked to the class and as a student with this junior college in these classes I can get the tools for about 50% off as long as I am a student.

Any suggestions on what tools I should buy?

I have a 192 piece craftsman socket and wrench set but wanted to see what specialty tools I'll need. Taking an engine building class and a fundamentals of auto mechanics class. Like I said in the past I'm starting from the ground and working up.
Old 08-31-2010, 08:59 AM
mr_velocity
4th Gear Member

Ratchets, start with the 1/4" drive then the 3/8s. Smoothest ratcheting mechanism you'll ever use. I also have their swivel sockets, a few line wrenches and the smaller 1/2 drive sockets so when you're torquing down rod bolts you won't be cracking them. 5/16 3/8 drive socket for the header bolts on my bb chevy's. I use 9/16ths a lot, especially on the boat, so I have 1 of everything in 9/16ths snap-on.

I have a huge craftsman box loaded with craftsman tools. When I break a tool more than twice I replace it with snap-on. There are also a few specialty tools that you can only find in snap-on.
Old 09-01-2010, 07:04 AM
69FB
4th Gear Member

Thanks Velocity. I'll will be assessing things tonight after I turn in my application for the Physical Therapy Program I am applying to.
Old 09-01-2010, 07:59 AM
Adrenolin
5th Gear Member