Classic Mustang General Discussion Make your non-Technical threads/posts in here.

Help requested on 1967, 289 Stock to Mild Performance Build

Old 11-23-2010, 12:22 AM
JH_67
1st Gear Member

Default Help requested on 1967, 289 Stock to Mild Performance Build

Hi All,
I am trying to find the right combination for my 1967, 289 coupe.
I would like to draw upon your experiences for my project, please any thoughts are welcome.
I am an every other weekend driver but want to have good low end acceleration. This car will never be on the track but should see from time to time a few stoplight to stoplight experiences. At the present everything is stock and I will be replacing my 2-barrel carburetor and intake. Both my C4-automatic and stock rear end are not in the plans to be altered at this time. Although I will put headers and an ‘H’ pipe on my existing dual exhaust.
The parts that I have acquired so far are both an Edelbrock performer manifold (2121) and a RPM/AirGap manifold (7521) – unsure which to use; I’ve been told the AirGap is not for a mild build (high RPM’s only) and would not help with the low end torque I desire, and since I’m not going to wind out the engine above 5500 (probably not even close to that) I’m just not sure which to use. I also have a new Edelbrock 600cfm carburetor (1406). These are the only parts I have in hand and they are all new, still in boxes and not returnable.