Classic Mustang General Discussion Make your non-Technical threads/posts in here.

67 Mustang Coupe Suspension

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2011, 08:55 PM
aselby

Default 67 Mustang Coupe Suspension

Hey guys I am looking for some suggestions on how I should redo the suspension on a 67 mustang coupe. It was given to me by my wife's uncle a couple of months ago. He parked it 14 years ago saying the trans was leaking fluid. I changed the trans pan gasket, have it running, and so far so good.
This past weekend I felt like she was ready for the "maiden voyage". So I took her around the block a couple of times. She ran and shifted well, but the suspension is shot. It felt like the body was bouncing off of the rear end. I'm not surprised, but I have never worked on a suspension before.
The car will mainly be a cruiser, but some spirited driving is not out of the question. I have read about the Shelby drop, is this good or bad? Do I leave it at stock height or lower it(in addition to the drop)? What size tires and rims should I put on it?( I understand that will also depend whether or not I lower it.) I am leaning toward stock suspension, but can I upgrade the stock suspension with a certain brand of parts? Oh, and of course, I don't want to break the bank. I am looking at shocks, front coils, front sway bar, and leaf springs. Thanks.
Old 10-03-2011, 09:44 PM
Jonk67
3rd Gear Member

You can get a very nice driving/riding car with improved stock components. This is a good starter articleL
http://home.bresnan.net/~dazed/suspension101

The shelby/arning 1" drop is a very good idea as the alignment can then be adjusted to better settings with the newer radial tires, remember these cars came with bias ply tires and were aligned for those. The drop will put your tires flatter to the ground also. The 1" drop really only lowers the car ~1/2".