Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Help installing Sun Super tach

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2006, 03:46 PM
19stang66
4th Gear Member

Default Help installing Sun Super tach

So I returned the ugly Summit brand tach I initially bought and got the Sunpro Sun super tach II. Man I love this thing! It looks sooo good with the rest of my gauges.

So anyways I need help with some of the wiring. In the directions it says to hook the red wire up to "any vehicle harness wire which is energized with battery voltage ONLY when the ignition key is in the ON (RUN position, NOT OFF or ACCESSORIES)." So what wire do I need to splice into? They give you these cool red connector things that i've never used before (See pics).

I also don't know where to hook up the white wire (for lighting). The instructions say "Connect the white wire to the instrument panel lighting circuit or any lead that is controlled by the instrument panel dimmer switch." They show using the red connector thing for this one too. (See pic) So what wire do I need to splice into for lighting?

Old 06-23-2006, 06:49 PM
MidNite27
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Help installing Sun Super tach

The red wire is for the Tachs power. It wants to be on only when ur keys are in, that way ur not sucking ur battery dry. You need a voltmeter and just stab some wires untill you hit a 12v wire that only gets power with keys in ignition. Or you could get power from your ciggarette lighter wire, which is 12v and requires keys to be in.

The white wire is the tachs backlight, which will be wired up to a 12v wire which turns on with the dashlights. That way u turn on ur dash lights, and ur tach lights up as well.

As for the connectors they are known as T-Taps. You slide the fully hollow part over the wire you want, then slide the wire for the tach into the blocked passage and crimp the metal slide through both wires. This connects them both of them together.
Old 06-23-2006, 07:16 PM