Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Classic Mustang Repairs

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2006, 02:00 PM
rlbjrcpa
1st Gear Member

Default Classic Mustang Repairs

Maybe it's just because I am an accountant by day playing the part of a Mustang mechanic nights and weekends, but it really seems like every project I have tackled end up being more difficult than I planned it to be.

My new way to budget time for repairs is to take the number of hours I initially think it will take and multiply by 4 - that usually gets me close.

But I have to say that no matter how long it takes, it's great to be able to say I did it myself!

Old 12-11-2006, 02:02 PM
paddy187
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Classic Mustang Repairs

Is that not the fun part of owning a stang....I know what you mean, i can only work on mine at the weekend in daylight so it take weeks to get things done, espically if i have not brought the right tool with me
Old 12-11-2006, 02:06 PM
Grimm
2nd Gear Member

You can't rush these kinds of things. Expect it to take forever! I'm estimating on about a year to get mine done. Fortunatelty my wife doesn't go into the garage!
Old 12-11-2006, 02:12 PM
stangimgood
2nd Gear Member

it took about 8 months of 8-9 hour days to get my wifes to a point that i felt she could drive it without having to call for help....now i have to do the body work!!!
Old 12-11-2006, 02:23 PM
jes72mustang
2nd Gear Member

I am the same way. I work at a desk 9 hours a day. Evenings and weekends I only get to work on the mustang when my little ones are napping, in bed for the night or my wife is home and isn't bugging me to get other things done. I have found that taking tasks in little steps helps to not get overwhelmed. Plan the project carefully then take it in babysteps.

If I am lucky I will have mine done in about 3 years.
Old 12-11-2006, 02:34 PM
rlbjrcpa
1st Gear Member

Sounds like there are lots of us in this boat.