Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

4 barrel vs 2 barrel carburetor

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2006, 09:14 PM
Timelockmind
3rd Gear Member

Default 4 barrel vs 2 barrel carburetor

I just found out my 2 barrel carburetor needs to be rebuilt or trashed.

The shop suggested a 4 barrrel endenbrach as an alternative.

First, are the 4 barrels really faster or is that just a myth? ARe they more depnedable?

Seond, Does putting in a new carburetor instead of having an orignal lessen the value of the car?

Three, is Endenbrach as decent brand?

How much (with labor) should the switch from 2 to 4 barrel coast?
Old 12-16-2006, 09:28 PM
Pyroburner69
1st Gear Member

Default RE: 4 barrel vs 2 barrel carburetor

im not an expert but this is what i know.
depending on what type of mainfold you have it may need to be replaced if you put a 4b on it. I was thinking of upgrading but i didnt have the $$ to chance out both. with a bigger carb you can put more air into the motor and more air means you can burn more gas. more gas makes a bigger explosion and the pisten is pushed harder/faster. i just had mine replaced but ill have to see what it ran me i had a lot of other things done at the time to.

oh and from what i know Edelbrach is one of the top 2 brands that people normally go with. you can always just replace the old 2b with a another 2b thats what i did mine was to bad to rebuild. never let your car sit for 5+ years with gas in the tank
Old 12-16-2006, 09:39 PM
Soaring
I ♥ Acer