Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Bought new mustang (WAY OVERPAID) need to do repairs

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2006, 07:48 PM
cmendenh81

Default Bought new mustang (WAY OVERPAID) need to do repairs

So about 1 year ago my GF and I bought a 1966 mustang 289 v8-c4 automatic for 8900. (In california looked around a bit seemed to be the going rate for the condition it was in.

Did a quick visual inspection,drove it around floorpans dont look like they were ever replaced nor have any rust so I figured hey go for it.

Now its 1 year later and I'm not a mechanic by any means I always took my cars to the shop for everything or just bought a new one. I'm not dumb and can figure everything out myself just gotta buy the tools so work isn't an issue for me to mentally handle.

-The transmission is leaking HORRIBLY from the pan and by where the drive shaft meets up and up front. Seems all the seals are basically gone. I add about 1 quart of tranny fluid every 5 days or so.
-Oil has started to leak from the oil drain plug and Under the hood you can see its leaking from what looks like the intake manifold and along one side of the engine.
-Coolant is now leaking from the big hose leading to the engine (easy fix)
-The cowl leaked into the car by the gas pedal when I drove it through a car wash (Looking through the vents it doesn't look bad in there but it is leaking now)
-The drivers side door when I put in the key its VERY hard to turn it almost feels like it is gonna bust the key.
-The bodywork is very nice and the interior was completely restored nice as well. But one spot of the paint along the rear window where that panel is between the trunk and the rear window the paint is peeling about the size of a quarter on that weld by the rear quarter panel.
-The instrument panel lights only work whenever they feel like working.