Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Some one Help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2006, 01:07 AM
MrMainEvent24
1st Gear Member

Default Some one Help!!!

Hey I am new to the Classic Stang world just bought a 64.5 Mustang "D" Code. If you try to turn the wheel you get a huge screeching sound, and i am pretty sure it leaks power steering fluid. It has gotten to the point where i can hardly turn the wheel, and i just wanted to know what you guys think about this. Should i automatically assume this is the power steering pump? Can some one tell me how to put in a new power steering pump? Step by step directions would be the best thing. I am not a mechanic by any means, but i like to do the most work on these cars as i can. Also if you guys know where the best place to order this part that would help also. Please help me out so i can drive my stang!!! You can email me at tr58@drexel.edu

Thanks.....
Old 12-22-2006, 01:10 AM
connor90
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Some one Help!!!

make sure that it has power steering fluid. i know that if it is low it will make noise and it uses type f tranny fluid for the power steering
Old 12-22-2006, 03:13 AM
Brandontyler65
I ♥ Acer

+1 also check your tie rods and everthing and make sure everything is greased grease is your friend in this car just make sure its in the right spot
Old 12-22-2006, 03:39 AM
Gun Jam

the belt might be loose too.
Check and see where the fluid is leaking from It might just need a valve rebuild or a hose replaced. If you follow hose from the PS pump it leads to the valve which is coned shaped thing (brown in color with an aluminum colored cover).
Good luck
Gun
Old 12-22-2006, 11:21 AM
MrMainEvent24
1st Gear Member

Thanks Guys. I have to check it out this afternoon. It was dripping really bad that is why i am so concerned. Is the power steering pump a hard fix?
Old 12-22-2006, 11:39 AM
Soaring
I ♥ Acer