Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

How to choose a stang

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2005, 09:09 PM
mustangme

Default How to choose a stang

My son and I have been shopping for a 65-69 mustang. What should we pay attention to regarding VIN and options? What makes the car worth more? We plan to spend 5-6K
We want a V8 w/AT and ready to drive. We dont mind working on the power train or interior but want to stay away from body and rust.
We found one with power steering,brakes, tilt steering and a/c. It appears to be a good deal.. It is out of state - we have looked at photos.
Old 02-14-2005, 02:52 AM
72MachOne99GT
2010 Blue Ball Award Recipient

Default RE: How to choose a stang

I am no proffesional at mustangs, or older ones for that matter but there are a few things that you should look out for..

Make sure all of your VIN numbers match.. there are books to find that will help you out with this.. not only the different numbers on the car itself, but also that they all match up with what they should be...ie the engine the seller claims, as to the one in the VIN

second. like you said, STAY AWAY FROM RUST... there are so many places to look for this at, mainly floor boards, trunk, then surface rust on the frames... if you can, life the carpet on the interior, look by the rear floor boards too.. if the owner doesnt like you snooping through a 6,000 dollar car, somthing should seem odd...my dad bought a 72 Mach 1, and we knew that there was some rust,, well, some turned inot some more, then somemore, climaxing in rusted holes in the trunk and floorboard,,things looked fairly solid,

ive read in magazines that it is defiately better to get something cosmetically sound, like with no rust, than it is to get somthing with a good engine, but a **** poor body.. mechanical things are always cheaper,,well, usually

finially what do you have in mind? are you looking for power? or just a cruiser?