Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

next thing on the to do list

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2007, 02:08 AM
ShAkE N BaKe!!
2nd Gear Member

Default next thing on the to do list

I need to buy a good alarm for my car to (help) prevent those wanting to steal personal belongings or worse, my car. I want it to go off anytime my car is tampered with.
Does anyone have any of those alarms with a lcd remote and notifys you when/where your is be tampered with?(how do you guys like it?)
Is it possible to put "any" type of alarm system from a electronics store? or are there some that would not work with our old classics? sorry if thats a stupid question but Im totally new to these alarms.[&:]
...I need 2 get this done soon.
Old 09-15-2007, 03:32 AM
eescapethefate
1st Gear Member

Default RE: next thing on the to do list

http://www.viper.com/ herd those were pretty good

http://www.viper.com/Products/Produc...?ProductID=107
Old 09-15-2007, 06:16 AM
andrewmp6
6th Gear Member

get a removeable steering wheel. honestly good insurance is your best bet a alarm wont stop a tow truck.
Old 09-15-2007, 01:00 PM
ldollar
I ♥ Acer

I have always used Viper alarms and have never had my car stolen. I have not upgraded to the 2-way remote but I would recommend it even though you will pay a premium for it. I would expect the base alarm to cost around 600-700 with the 2-way remote pager. Without it, your base alarm would be under 300 installed, but with a few decent extras, you could get a nice alarm for around 400.

You can get a lot of info from the Viper site but I would suggest going down to a local alarm/audio shop and discussing your options. Just remember that if you install one of the base alarms without the 2-way pager, you wont be able to upgrade down the road without installing a whole new system. So if you are going to do it, do it from the start.
Old 09-15-2007, 01:57 PM
xian67
2nd Gear Member