Search



Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > Classic Mustangs (Tech)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Welcome to Mustang Forums!
Welcome to Mustang Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2007, 03:10 PM   #1
1970coupe
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Vehicle: 1967 GTA Coupe
Location:
Posts: 755
Default radio in a 70

works fine but when i turn the car off after i set all my settings it loses all the memory. and i have all the right wires connected i believe. my buddy says it does it also in his 70 fastback. any idears?
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Mustang Forums!
1970coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 03:16 PM   #2
TexasAxMan
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Vehicle: 1966 Mustang Coupe
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,691
Default RE: radio in a 70

Should be a red and yellow power wire. Red goes to switched, yellow goes to battery +. At least on most of the radio's I've seen. Some could use different wires.

If your wiring is correct, you must have a bad radio.
__________________
1966 Mustang Coupe
302 w/ T-5
TexasAxMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 03:29 PM   #3
1970coupe
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Vehicle: 1967 GTA Coupe
Location:
Posts: 755
Default RE: radio in a 70

hmmm wierd. it works on your old stang?
1970coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 07:33 PM   #4
smittycm
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 144
Default RE: radio in a 70

You must have the battery (constant) and the battery (switched) hooked up properly in order to keep your stations. If you don't have the battery (constant) hooked up to a source that runs constant + voltage, then you will lose all memory (including preset stations). My guess is your buddy got it wrong on his and then helped you install yours. haha. Just giving you a hard time. It could be a bad radio, but unlikely that both of you have a bad radio with the same issue. It's an easy enough fix. As for the coloring of the wires, just depends on the manufacturer of the radio. On most radios, there is a sticker that shows what color of wires go to what. Just make sure the one marked B+ (constant) is hooked up to a wire that's always positive, and the B+ (switched) is hooked up to a wire that reads positive only when the car is turned to ACC or ON (such as the post on the back of the ignition switch). If there is no wiring sticker on the radio, give me the brand and model of the radio and I can probably find out for you.
__________________
1966 Coupe
289
C4
smittycm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 07:42 PM   #5
1967inline6MUSTANG
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Round Rock Tx
Posts: 95
Default RE: radio in a 70

ya you need it hooked to a hot source of power or it will not keep your settings. i hooked mine to a hot spot of the fuse box...
__________________
x
http://s163.photobucket.com/albums/t306/inline6mustang/
http://members.cardomain.com/teslafan
http://www.classicinlines.com
1967inline6MUSTANG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 08:38 PM   #6
dirtydave289
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Vehicle: 1966 Coupe, 2003 Cobra
Location: Newnan, GA
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to dirtydave289
Default RE: radio in a 70

Works on my '66
__________________

2003 Redfire Cobra

2.3 Whipple, MAFia/BAP/60's, RR 2.9, Steeda 100mm idler,
JLT RAI, BBK O/R X, Magnaflow Catback, FTBR Full bushing kit,
BF IRS Brace, Tri-ax, Centerforce Dual Friction,
LFP Quadrant, UPR firewall adjuster
dirtydave289 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 09:13 PM   #7
ky
America ftw

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Vehicle: yes
Location: ca
Posts: 2,260
Send a message via AIM to ky
Default RE: radio in a 70

the red goes to the ignition, so it only turns on when the key is turned. the yellow goes straight to the battery/soleniod
__________________

I eat lightning and crap thunder.
ky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2007, 11:11 AM   #8
1970coupe
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Vehicle: 1967 GTA Coupe
Location:
Posts: 755
Default RE: radio in a 70

hmm ok. anyone know the color codes? like what color to what. its a blaupunkt radio. it was free so i cant complain.
1970coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2007, 07:24 PM   #9
smittycm
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 144
Default RE: radio in a 70

Did you check the radio for one of those stickers. I've seen very few radios that didn't have a sticker displaying what color of wire was for what. If no sticker, then you could go with best guess, let me elaborate...

Typically, your ground is going to be black. Your power wires (switched and constant) are usually red and yellow. Your remote is usually blue. There might be some sort of variation. Additionally, the power constant, power switched, ground, and remote are all usally right next to each other on the plug that plugs into your radio. The blue remote wire, if it has one, shouldn't even be hooked up. That wire is for accesories like amps, cd changers, etc. Just tuck it away making sure it's not exposed. Don't mess with the black wire, it should already be grounded or your radio wouldn't be working at all. Now that I mention it, that could also be giving you trouble. Make sure you have a clean connection withthe ground.

As for the other two wires, the ones that should be some variant of a red wire and a yellow wire, try switching them around. Use a test light to make sure you've got one of the wires connected to a constant power source, and make sure the other wire is connected to something with a switched power source. Like somebody else mentioned, the yellow is usually your "constant", and the red is usually the "switched". To use the test light, clip the aligator clip to your dash somwhere (this is your ground), touch the pointed tip w/bulb on the other end to the wire you're testing. When the bulb lights up, you've just completed the circuit and have found yourself a positive wire. Try it out on some of your fuses in your fuse box. A "constant" powered source will light the bulb regardless of key position, a "switched" source will only light the bulb when the key is turned to "on" or "acc".

Some pointers...

1. When testing wires, do everything in your power not to poke through the protective coating on the wire. Try to find the terminated end and touch the test light to that.

2. Don't strip off a long length of coating on one end of the wire, wrap it around a fuse, then push it back into the fuse panel! For a cleaner job without having to solder, go to Wal-mart or local auto store and pick up a solderless crimp set for10 bucks. Usually comes with everything you'll need and it's easy to use.

3. Don't leave any bare wire exposed. May result in a short later down the road.

I don't mean to insult your intelligence, it just doesn't sound like you have any experience with wiring as this should really be an easy fix assuming it's just an installation issue. That's why I'm trying to break it down "barney" style for you with how to use a test light and everything else. Good luck and let us know if you still have trouble.
__________________
1966 Coupe
289
C4
smittycm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2007, 07:33 PM   #10
cmanf
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Vehicle: 66 cope
Location:
Posts: 815
Send a message via Yahoo to cmanf
Default RE: radio in a 70

I agree with the masses. Yellow wire on a15 or 20 amp fuse straight to the + post on your bat. The blue is usually a remote for a amp or power antenna. Only powers up when the radio power is on.
__________________
CmanF
1966 coupe 347s S/C Paxton tko 500
http://s208.photobucket.com/albums/bb35/cfzx10/
cmanf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2007, 07:33 PM
MustangForums
Ford Mustang




Paid Advertisement

 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Radio in a Mustang GT is Stupid SpazHairlip GT S197 General Discussion 12 06-21-2005 04:47 PM

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 PM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Emails Backup