Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

weiand vs. edelbrock

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2007, 01:17 PM
groho
4th Gear Member

Default weiand vs. edelbrock

Recently developed an intake leak between cyl 2/4 on my 66. I've pulled the intake and suspect it was the crossover that may have caused the leak.The intake is not perfectly flat, but not obviouslywarped.
Looking at the Edel 2121 and the W. 8124.They appear to be very similar intakes, same operating RPM, etc, but the Weiand does NOT have the crossover (which is what I'm looking for), keeping the charge a little cooler. Air-gapwas a consideration, but I believe it's just a little too much for a stock 289 running a 570 performer carb. Wanta hear from the guys who are running these intakes, and want to confirm if the crossover is there or not.
Old 11-28-2007, 02:22 PM
my77stang
6th Gear Member

Default RE: weiand vs. edelbrock

i have no firsthand experience with either, but i can say with utmost confidence the wieand is a better intake than the edelbrock 2121 (performer). why? because its a brand new design and they claim:

Dyno testing of the new Weiand 8124 found an additional 14 peak HP and 13lb/ft torque over brand E – p/n 2121. Average torque was increased by 9.5 and HP by 8.5 from 2,200 to 6,000 RPM Testing was performed on a 302 with high flow 58cc heads, 268/279 dur/.522 lift Lunati cam P/N 51023, 600 cfm carb & 1–5/8” headers.
case closed IMO
Old 11-28-2007, 02:43 PM
dozierstang
2nd Gear Member

I am not a big edelbrock fan...I am more of a holley guy, but I can tell you that I agree that weiand is a better intake, however edelbrock does have more to chose from and a good price too. If I could get a weiand for my 390 at a good price, I would do it.
Old 11-28-2007, 04:22 PM
67mustang302
6th Gear Member