Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Can You Help Me Find It?

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2007, 06:08 PM
sanjosebass
1st Gear Member

Default Can You Help Me Find It?

Let me start out this thread by saying that I am 100% new to Mustangs. I've had some experience with older engines (owned a 1975 Jeep CJ5) and I certainly pick up things quickly so please, take it easy on me if this is something obvious. ;-)

So I purchased my very first 1965 Mustang a couple of weeks ago and when I drove it home there was oil splahed throughout the inside engine compartment. At first, we thought it came from where the dipstick housing went in so I got a new housing, put some sealant on it, and installed it. Snug as a rug, I thought I had taken care of the oil leak, but boy was I wrong.

When I drove it home today, the oil was back. Same puddles, same crap, same situation (can you tell I am a little frustrated?). So, I thought what should I do next? I figured I would take some high-res photos and ask you all to help me find out where in the heck this oil is coming from.

Take a look, make an educated guess, and let's see who is right. I plan on finding it this weekend.....

Old 12-14-2007, 06:56 PM
JMD
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Can You Help Me Find It?

I am tempted to say that the leak is coming from the front lower edge of the intake manifold. If this is the case you might need to remove the manifold and reseal it.

Or It might be coming from the timing cover... same procedure to repair, but the manifold would be an easier fix, hopefully thatis where it is.
Old 12-14-2007, 07:01 PM
Starfury
6th Gear Member

Yeah, that's the first place I'd look too. Also could be the distributor o-ring (or lack thereof), although I doubt that would throw that much oil around.
Old 12-14-2007, 07:04 PM
sanjosebass
1st Gear Member