Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Where to start in purchasing?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2007, 08:11 PM
_FLIP_

Default Where to start in purchasing?

I plan on buying a 65 or 66 Mustang Coupe.

I am 16 and a Junior in high school. Right now I have $4500. I make a little under $650 a month. I plan on buying a car in the summer of 2008. I'll have my licence in March. (Ya ya...i dont have my licence yet)

I know nothing about purchasinga used car, or pretty much anything about cars in general.

Any advice to get me started? Like specific things the car should have or thing I should know about before purchasing. I plan on finding someone on ebay who lives close and is selling their mustang. (Not sure if thats a good idea.) And after I buy the car, I want to know what is necessary to purchase for the car, and important things that I should do to the car.

Much thanks! (I know...I am a noob)
Old 12-24-2007, 08:21 PM
baddog671
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Where to start in purchasing?

First off, Welcome to MF!

The first thing I would do is find someone that can help you with this. Is there anyone is your family that is familiar with 60's cars (father or grandfather perhaps), that can help you? Also, if there is a mustang club in your area, sometimes the members will help you find a decent car.

If I was in your place, I would try to find a decent 289 in running condition. Not a GOOD car becuase then it will cost more, but something that is atleast somewhat mechanically sound and putts around.

Continue to save your money...

In the meantime, learn! This site has more information than you can imagine and just browing around through the threads will teach you alot.
Old 12-24-2007, 09:08 PM
BULLITT GT 390
1st Gear Member

Welcome!! all I can say is thatit takes "time" and "money"! there is alot you can learn on this site!!!good luckand have fun!
"old carsare the best"

Old 12-24-2007, 09:35 PM
dlynch
2nd Gear Member