Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

ASE question #2

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2008, 09:49 PM
Scott H.
5th Gear Member

Default ASE question #2

Last edited by Scott H.; 01-16-2010 at 09:09 PM.
Old 01-09-2008, 10:09 PM
mustangmatt63
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: ASE question #2

Sounds like neither mechanic is correct but I am not an expert by any means.Wouldn't the timing just need to be set properly?[8D]
Old 01-09-2008, 11:29 PM
plcdude
2nd Gear Member

Honestly, I just guessed.
Old 01-10-2008, 12:12 AM
67mustang302
6th Gear Member

Is that an actual ASE question, or did you take liberties with it? I've never seen one like THAT.

Both of them though, since compression is really dynamic, the compression reading is based on cam timing, particularly the intake valve closing point. That's why cam manufacturers reccomend higher static compression with larger cams, to keep the dynamic compression high enough as well. Higher compression readings would come from advanced cam timing, lower from retarded, and changing cam timing can change manifold vacuum readings as well, since advancing/retarding cam timing changes engine pumping efficiency, and thus, vacuum. Incidently, the new S197 Mustangs' Variocam timing is actually the cam starting off in the advanced position at low rpm, and as engine rpm increases the cam timing is retarded to shift the power higher in the upper rpm ranges.
Old 01-10-2008, 06:43 AM
falconfixer
1st Gear Member

See i thought you could have LOWER compression (overlap) not higher (already measured at 'highest' and not higher than stock). Vacuum would be affected in any case, but 'won't run right' is too vague though. Won't idle? Won't make the power it should? Backfire through the carb? Exhaust?

(The same follow-up questions we would ask a newB poster...) Or is my lack of ASE knowledge quite apparent now? [shrug]
Old 01-10-2008, 08:10 AM
JMD
6th Gear Member