Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

New member- IRS ideas?

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2008, 06:11 PM
67MustangCoupe

Default New member- IRS ideas?

[align=left]hey guys, new to the forum, but I have an ambitious question: Has anyone here successfully modified an existing IRS setup to fit our mustangs? My stang is a daily driver, and anything that makes her hug corners better and up the safety of the car is a plus to me. I know Daze has gotten close with the Jag IRS, but are there any other setups that may work? I know I could buy one for about $5,000 out of the box, but where's the fun in that? Plus im a college student and the appeal of a cheap alternative is very enticing. Let me know if anyone has any ideas on the topic.
[/align]
Old 02-10-2008, 07:31 PM
mat11089
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: New member- IRS ideas?

I dont know that it can be done very cheap.But i guess if you have the tools and the will anything is possible
Old 02-10-2008, 08:06 PM
Daze
3rd Gear Member

I will not mention all the aftermarket units because it sounds like that is not what you are after. there are lots of options out there especially sense (judging by your screen name) you have a 67 which is a little wider.

1. The corvette IRS will probably be the most expensive, hardest to find and hardest to narrow up.

2. The late model Cobra Mustang IRS will probably be the easiest especially if you get a DVS kit but by the time you get the kit and the IRS unit you will probably have about $4000 in to it.

3. The T-bird/ Lincoln Marc IRS will also fit but will take a bit of effort to get properly narrowed up with the correct geometry.

4. And of coure my person favorit the Jag rear end. That is the easiest to narrow and work with and is closest to what Ford designed. However I am sure you already new that being that you mentoned me in your post and have obviously seen my pages