Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

what cam do i get?

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2008, 11:43 AM
blackfoot
4th Gear Member

Default what cam do i get?

hey guys. i think its my first time posting in the classic section.. but i do browes it often.

anyways i have a 1970 convertible with a 302. and im rebuiding the motor.. im pretty much ready to put the timing cover back on when, when i decided to upgrade to double rollers and upgrade the cam..

i have a standard transmission with power brakes. its a 302 bored .30, with an edleborck torqer 289 manifold. with a 450cfm 4barrel carb. stock fordheads from 1969 (yet visually when comparing to another 302 i got sitting on the floor. the combustion chamber is A LOT smaller.)

i want to get a cam that will give me a nice lumpy idle and sounds stupid angry when i blip the throtle. im not looking for a serious performance gain, since this is not a race car.. i just want the sound...

a couple of people have already rec'd me to go with the smallest cam availeble for a 351w, or go with a 280 cam. and ill get what im looking for.

but those guys have never owned a 302 and were al into SBC's... i want to get a more reputable opinion from people who own old school fords

thanks
Drew
Old 05-04-2008, 12:33 PM
Starfury
6th Gear Member

Default RE: what cam do i get?

Honestly, you're going about it the wrong way. Choosing a cam is mostly about performance, not sound. Looking for a cam because it 'sounds cool' isn't going to help performance if the rest of the engine isn't built to match the cam. If all you want is a lope, pull a vacuum line, it'll lope plenty.