Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

1970 302 engine blew rod, new engine? help

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2008, 10:41 AM
altumdreams

Cool 1970 302 engine blew rod, new engine? help

I have a 1970 Mustang convertible with a 302 that blew a rod. It bangs against the oil pan when the engine runs. I would like to make this a nice car that i can drive in the summer and enjoy. Sure I want decent horsepower though I'm 40 and punching it doesn't matter as much to me as having a reliable car I can drive with the family and get decent gas milage. I'm not a mechanic and have never done engine work. I will not be rebuilding this myself. Am I better off buying an engine to install? Should I have this engine rebuilt? This engine probably has 80k on it and has sat for the last7 years of so. I would like to know what I am better off doing in the long run? Should I try to have this converted to fuel injection or have other things done that would be better off than just dropping a 1970 era 302 in here. If you recommend buying an engine who are some reliable companies? Any recommendations about places within a couple hours of Chicago to do the work? Your help is really appreciated.
Old 08-18-2008, 11:58 AM
boogerschnot
5th Gear Member

Well, I would think that the best thing to do would be to pull the motor out and take it apart to see where your problem actually is. I'm not a mechanic either, but with a basic set of tools, a couple of rentals from the parts store, and an engine stand, I pulled mine pretty easily.. If you feel like learning than this is the way to go..
3 basic questions:
What is your budget?
How much are you willing to do yourself?
How soon do you want it back together?

If you can afford it and dont really feel like messing with the engine, then buy a crate motor..