Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Edelbrock 1406 carb help!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2008, 09:57 AM
runway1
1st Gear Member

Default Edelbrock 1406 carb help!!

I doing a 302 with an Edelbrock performer manifold and 1406 carb.

I have three linkage "adapters", 1490,1844 & 1483. How the heck does the throttle and trani-kickdown linkages work with these adapters? Edelbrock doesn't supply any pics and you would think it was self explanatory - it's not; and I'm not a newbie.

When the throttle is wide open, it doesn't have the travel to hit the kickdown. The "adapters" don't have any parts to get it there. Also, there's no apparent way to attach the throttle rod to their adapter and the stock retaining clip doesn't allow the mechanism to work! I'm a picture guy. Anybody have pics of this installation?
Old 12-29-2008, 01:02 PM
fakesnakes
4th Gear Member

Perhaps this will help:

http://www.edelbrock.com/automotive_.../1000/1483.pdf

On a 65, is the kick down on the carb or does it attach to the firewall mount of the accelerator pedal?
Old 12-29-2008, 01:22 PM
runway1
1st Gear Member

Believe me, I've stared at that sheet longer than I care to think about.

The stock kickdown mounts to the back of the manifold on a bracket about 8" behind the carb - toward the firewall. When you stomp on it, the throttle rod has a dog-leg bend that catches, hits the kickdown lever and pushes it back.

If you look at that pic, how is the kickdown (8" away) supposed to interface with this without a pusrod or something of the sort? The instructions say is something like " mount this up here and make sure there's no interference". Not much help.
Old 12-29-2008, 02:13 PM
gwb16
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by runway1
Believe me, I've stared at that sheet longer than I care to think about.