Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

RetroFit 1968 Mustang?

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2005, 09:38 PM
Spencer

Default RetroFit 1968 Mustang?

I was driving down the road and noticed a white mustang with a for sale sign on it. I stopped in and took a good look at it, it was a 1968 white mustang coupe. 52,000 original miles with some rust, automatic, with a near flawless interior. The sign said $6,800. Im a relativly new driver almost a year, and my mom is sick of me taking her Audi(S4). She said the only problem she had with the car was the lack of safety. With Lapbelts and no airbags, she didnt think it was safe enough. Now the belts can be replaced, but I wouldnt because I dont see the point if airbags are installed. The concern I have is the non-existance of airbags. So can you Retrofit airbags, into a 1968 Mustang? Driver and passenger airbags I know it would require replaceing the Steering section. But can you get a kit or something along the lines? Thanks. [&:]
Old 06-07-2005, 11:00 PM
6mustang6
5th Gear Member

Default RE: RetroFit 1968 Mustang?

Well, Put in a roll Bar, and some 3 point seat belts. I never heard of airbags for these cars. They are not safe at all, but why let your mother know that? Thats about the only thing you can do to make these old dinosuars safe is the roll bar and seat belts.
Old 06-08-2005, 04:54 AM
Soaring
I ♥ Acer

Anything is possible. With some ingenuity, you could probably rob a 90's model mustang steering column that has the air bags, but that would be a PITA to install. If your mother wants you to have a modern car, then get one like my 03 Mach1.
Old 06-08-2005, 10:02 AM
68FastbackGT
2nd Gear Member