Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Need a little help

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2009, 09:19 PM
DarkNight69

Default Need a little help

This is my first post and hoping I found the right place to come, I am fairly new to the Mustang world, used to own a 64.5 Mustang for a couple of months til times got hard and had to part ways but have just purchased a 69' Mustang coupe hardtop to work on and am back in the game. She has a few things here and there but a # matching 351-W so not doing to bad. My questions are however just getting used to the new car and I found that I have to ease into the throttle because too much gas and the carb backfires. I first thought a timing issue but played with the timing and same thing happens. I then assumed the choke and have since been playing with the choke which seems to be the issue however I can't get it adjusted right and can't figure out what I need to do exactly. Could it be something else that is the problem? The motor has a holley performance carb with an electric choke. Also my other question is that the fuel gauge doesn't read correctly, I filled the tank and the gauge reads half and after maybe 30 miles of driving goes down to almost empty, what could be the issue here? And I was looking to replace the hood for an aftermarket hood (but still hold onto the stock one of course) however can't seem to find one for a 69' that isn't fiberglass, any ideas where to shop around? Finally I know that the 69' Mustang Grande's came just like the coupes but with a vinyl top and I believe the windows were slightly different but how do I know if mine was at one time a Grande or if it is actually a factory coupe? Any help is much appreciated, sorry for the novel just wanting to start off on the right foot.
Old 04-01-2009, 09:38 PM
1slow67
ROTM Moderator

About the Grande part, the body style code on the door will tell you.

65E is Grande.
Old 04-01-2009, 09:47 PM
kylehamilton79