Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

need help with rotissere

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2009, 08:15 AM
mlager8
1st Gear Member

Default need help with rotissere

Me and my dad just bought a rotisserie kit, it's mostly pre-assembled for the most part and just bolts together at the rotating cross member and leg L-frames. The problem is that it gives no direction on how to attach it to a vehicle. I think this is probably for liability issues. I have never used a rotisserie before and need some advice on the best and safest way to attach a 67 fastback. I've heard of welding the rotisserie right to the frame but I'm almost positive this kit is intended to bolt to the car. I would assume The rear bolts on where the leaf springs connect, but I have no idea what to do on the front end. This is all assumption on my part, if anyone has used a rotisserie on a late 60's mustang I would appreciate any advice. I thought I'd come and ask here before anything else. If needed I can take some pictures of the rotisserie later and the adapters it comes with. Thanks in advance for any help.
Old 06-19-2009, 08:27 AM
2+2GT
6th Gear Member

If the frame rails are structurally sound, it's best to go there, if they are not, fix them first.

This setup attaches to the shackle hole. Alternately, you can go to the rear bumper bolts, but structural soundness is even more critical if you go there:

This shows the brackets attached to the front bumper bracket holes:

Old 06-19-2009, 08:52 AM
Norm Peterson
6th Gear Member

Originally Posted by 2+2GT
If the frame rails are structurally sound, it's best to go there, if they are not, fix them first.
Amen to that.

Even if you have to add some temporary bracing (which is probably a good idea anyway). If the car twists or bends as you lift or turn it, either visibly or enough that the doors don't open and close, stop and add appropriate bracing.

Norm