Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Introduction

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2009, 01:46 PM
kadumel

Default Introduction

Hello -

Apprahently (I can't spell that word btw) I have logged in here before, but I believe this is my first time posting. Wanted to give my introduction and my cars introduction real fast.

25, have been into cars for years now but this is my first classic, first time doing this much work as well.

1966 Mustang Coupe, original owner since 1966, 289 2bbl with 3 speed manual, I got it from father-in-law. He had only put 75k original miles on it, tried to have it restored in 1993, but only drove it about 250 miles after that. Got the original 289 semi-running, needed a carb rebuild to keep it there but instead of wasting time messing with the 289 I bought a 302 roller block, some GT-40 heads, and a fresh rebuilt T5 tranny with upgraded bearings. Got the bellhousing as well.

I am doing all of the work that I possibly can myself, the car has never been in a wreck or anything.

I am planning on putting in a stock crank, a performance cam, forged pistons, and forged rods, putting a set of 1.6 roller rockers on top and putting the T5 behind it. I still have the original 289 and 3 speed manual from the car, I am going to be selling those to help fund some of the work I am going to do to get it running. I never plan on selling the car so resale value is worthless to me, it is actually still the father-in-laws car by title so it will definitely stay in the family. Also got a F4B intake that I got with the block that I am selling btw. : )