Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Pre Purchase Inspection SE Michigan

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2010, 09:37 PM
ljrullman

Default Pre Purchase Inspection SE Michigan

I am a newbie to the forum and don't own a classic yet. (Years ago I owned a 1974 II and am nostalgic for a Mustang.) I am toying with taking the plunge for a first generation convertible (e.g. saw a 1967 restored recently I like) but before I fall in love with one I wondered if anyone can give advice about the wisdome of a pre purchase inspection? My gut is that it would be a small price to pay ($150?) for peace of mind. I've seen various companies that do a 150 point check but don't think they do such things as compression checks, and I don't assume they are classic/Mustang experts. I live in Ann Arbor - about 45 min west of Detroit. Any advice about whether this makes sense and does anyone know of a place that does this around here? Thanks.
Old 08-15-2010, 03:07 PM
JMD
6th Gear Member

I would see that an inspection is done on any old car I was looking to buy, especially a car in the rust belt.

I can't help much with just who up there, but you need someone who will look the car over for rust and/or shoddy work really well.

Maybe a local M/F classic guy can step up and help you, I can think of at least a couple of qualified folks on the forum near there.

Oh, and WELCOME!
Old 08-15-2010, 06:41 PM
ljrullman

I agree, I think I will get an inspection. Question though - do you think the typical body/frame/work inspection is enough (which most companies in this business do)? Or, should I find a Ford dealer or classic car garage for a compression check at least also?
Old 08-15-2010, 09:08 PM
JMD
6th Gear Member

Originally Posted by ljrullman