Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

To use a console or to NOT use a console? What's your opinon?

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2010, 08:13 AM
Novice-Owner-Marc
2nd Gear Member

Default To use a console or to NOT use a console? What's your opinon?

OK....

A little background on myself. I have over 8 years of experience doing interior work. So all the interior on my Coupe will/should not be a major issue for me. I have considered/decided (still up in the air) to make my own console for the middle of my Coupe's interior. I realize that the original interior had a console, yet I have seen a lot of pictures where people are doing their interior without a console. Which brings me to the follow conclusions.
1. They don't want to pay the $1000 for a replica one.
2. Their original console didn't match up to their expectations.
3. They didn't know how to make a new one.
4. They just didn't want it.

With all that said, I am asking the forum for their opinion on whether or not a 67 Coupe should or should not have the console in it?

OK, double/triple negatives there, but I think I got my point across.

So, what's the thoughts folks?
Old 10-01-2010, 08:28 AM
65-2+2

My thought....for what it's worth. If it's not original or aftermarket to look original....leave it alone.

Disclaimer: I'm an old school enthusiast. I bought a 65 rally-pac and had it refurbished just to have a tachometer.
Old 10-01-2010, 10:08 AM
Coupe
3rd Gear Member

Mine has one, I am going to do away with it when I do the t-5 swap. I just dont see what good it is, sure it can hold my McDonald's sweet tea while parked, but the floor hump could do the task just as well. Other than that I fail to see what it's really for. Now, it may end up being a good spot to hide an Alpine amp...hmm, anyway Im not building the "secretary's car" version though so it really depends what look you are going for. Im even doing away with the GT fog lights up front.