Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

'73 Mach 1 Restroation

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2010, 12:44 AM
bkelley
1st Gear Member

Default '73 Mach 1 Restroation

First off, greetings from Las Vegas. The name's Bryce and I'm currently a student majoring in electronic engineering. I was looking for a Mustang forum to post on and I figured this would be the best place to join.

My dad and I have a '73 Mach 1 that has been setting for some years now. He bought it back in the late 70s from the original owner and drove it up until the mid 90s when he had to park it. He started working construction and needed a truck. It's been sitting under a cover in the back yard since. Tried to keep it running but time eventually took over and it just sat. A few years back we pulled it out and got it running again but didn't have the time or money to do the full override. Now that I'm able to put money into it myself, we are gonna pull it out again and hopefully turn it daily drivable car. My dad was telling me how fast it used to be and it was getting me real excited. I've been looking for a fun car to drive for a while now but recently decided to focus my time and money on the Mach 1. It going to take some time to get it finished, but it'll definitely be worth it.

It's got a 351 Cleveland, 10:1 pistons, Hooker headers, dual glass packs and 4:10 gears. I guess back when he was driving it, the throw out bearings were bad and ate up the clutch. At the time he didn't have the money to fix it, so he got an auto transmission from a friend and threw that it. He also had to swap out the 750 double pumper Holley for a 650 single pump since the 750 was so gas hungry. Once we get it going, I plan on putting both a four speed and a 750 back in it.

Anyways, I just wanted to join up so I had somewhere to go for advice. I want to do this right. Not only for me, but for my dad. It's still his first love.
Old 10-25-2010, 08:27 AM
KMatch
2nd Gear Member