Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

body rust and my options

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2010, 07:41 PM
mustang_garage

Default body rust and my options

hi everyone, my 69 mustang has alot of rust bubbles forming and has rust forming on the trunk lid and on rear quarter panels etc etc... i bought the car in 03 and havent done much to the body as far as improvements.I dont have the money to take it down to a body shop and have them do the body work and then paint it so what i want to do here is use some paint stripper and remove the paint and then grind the rust out a section at a time. once ive removed all the rust spray a heavy coat of etching primer over it to cover the metal. I sanded one small area down to metal a few years ago when i removed one of the first rust spots and the car has 3-4 paint jobs on it.

so does this sound like a good plan? does anyone have any suggestions? im not a body mechanic so im not looking to make this car look cherry right now my main concern is to remove the rust.

will the etching primer seal the car from moister? can i still drive it once its been sprayed?
thanks for any help u guys can give me.
Old 11-11-2010, 09:26 PM
67t5ponycoupe
5th Gear Member

I would not touch it until I could afford to do it right. If you are going to do it you really need to strip it all to bare metal to get a good assesment on what need to be replaced. If you need a full quarter panel any work you do now will be a waste of time.
Old 11-11-2010, 10:47 PM
aaquib1992
4th Gear Member