Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Everything about a 351w swap into a 65 mustang

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2011, 02:58 PM
65fastbackman

Default Everything about a 351w swap into a 65 mustang

Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Swapping a 351w into a 1965/1966 Mustang- by 65Fastbackman

First off, I am not a certified mechanic nor am I saying that what I did will work for you in your situation, this is just the setup that I used when I did a 351w swap into my 65 fastback. I am a mustang enthusiast and owned a 68 fastback and currently own a 65 shelby gt 350 replica, I have been working on mustangs for over 10 years and did this swap by myself, other than needing help taking the engine in and out of the vehicle.
Second, make sure you know what you’re getting into before doing this swap, it is not incredibly difficult but I didn’t do much research before and it ended up taking me much longer than I had anticipated. Another reason it took so long is that, as good as the internet is, everyone seems to have an opinion on everything and very few times are the opinions factual. Because of this I often times got information that I believed to be accurate from one individual and inaccurate from another, so this is for all of the guy out there doing this swap who have a bunch of questions that other guys claim to know the answers to but most likely have never actually done the swap before.
-So, the parts that will switch over in the swap are: air cleaner, carb, intake – I’ve heard mixed things but I bought a new intake, water pump, fuel pump, oil filter, alternator, pulley’s, brackets, starter, bellhousing, clutch linkage, clutch, pressure plate, flywheel.
-Parts that will not switch over: distributor, oil pan, oil pump, valve covers, motor mounts and the biggest one are the headers – a specific swap header is needed for the application.
- My setup:
-Block: 1994 351w roller motor, roller rockers/cam/timing