Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Looks Like Engine's Coming Apart, Need Help

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2011, 03:30 AM
guitarman376
3rd Gear Member

Default Looks Like Engine's Coming Apart, Need Help

I have battled cooling issues in my car as long as I have owned it. Recently the car (again) began running hotter than usual. None of the usual culprits were causing the problem. Today I decided its time to flush the radiator. I found a nice milky fluid where the coolant/water's supposed to be! Made my day......Now I'm thinking that I have been dealing with a blown head gasket the whole time.

The reason I'm assuming its a head gasket is because the radiator is very new so I don't think ATF is leaking into the water.

I have no experience with engine assembly/disassembly. Is this something I can tackle myself? Any special tools I need? Anything to look for specifically? Engine guides you guys would recommend?

I'm no mechanical novice and I have good general knowledge especially with old Fords, but like I said engine work is the one thing I haven't gotten my teeth into yet. I'm considering doing a top end rebuild since its pretty much all coming apart soon....
Old 12-11-2011, 07:45 AM
gjz30075
2nd Gear Member

If you feel it's a head gasket issue (I agree), then the engine doesn't have to come apart; only the heads have to come off. No special tools needed. The coolant will need to be drained, the carb then comes off, then the intake, then the exhaust manifolds, then the heads.

If you've identified it as a head gasket problem at this point, you will have to determine why. With the heads off, you'll want to make sure the mating surfaces are absolutely flat.

Good luck....
Old 12-11-2011, 02:19 PM
guitarman376
3rd Gear Member