Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > Classic Mustangs (Tech)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Welcome to Mustang Forums!
Welcome to Mustang Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2012, 12:29 AM   #1
jp1967stang
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Vehicle: 1965, 1967 mustang coupes, 1965 stang convert
Location: MN
Posts: 426
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=656268542
Default Does anyone know for 100% ford duraspark 2

Well i put in a summit harness and at the same time did the duraspark 2 upgrade. Now i ran all the wires pulled the whole thing out and taped it up and have it all back in the car and everything hooked up. Idk y today i decided to look on the net to just go over everything and make sure i ran everything right and nothing is going to fry.
I have seen many options on if the duraspark box u use a resistor wire or not off the ignition switch. My harness has a fuse for the coil and i would assume that the voltage is a full 12v on that wire havent checked yet. I looked on the internet and have seen both. Some say to use a resistor wire to the box some say put full 12v to the box. Some say full 12v to box and coil so no resistor. Some say full 12v to box and resistor block or whatever their called at the coil. What is the right answer? Has anyone ever actually measured the voltage of the wire to the red wire on the box on a car that came with duraspark 2? I have herd alot of ppl say that either way works and they have been using it that way for 2 years or so ect but i want the right answer. Please someone give me the 100% i know right answer.

Note everything for my duraspark 2 is stock, stock box blue, stock dizy, stock coil. I did lengthen the wires from the box to the dizy. And also ran new wire to the coil wire i ran was bigger then the wire that was their didnt think any of these wires have any resistor elements to them.

Nothing has happen to me yet havent fired the car yet just want to know
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Mustang Forums!
__________________



Last edited by jp1967stang; 01-03-2012 at 12:33 AM.
jp1967stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 12:40 AM   #2
1slow67
ROTM Moderator
 
1slow67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2003 GT
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 7,933
jake03gt
Default

I ran DSII on my 200 I6 when I still had it. I went through 3 coils before figuring it all out. I ran a setup saying that I had to cut the pink resistor wire under the dash to get 12V to the box. Well I did that and coils were going left and right, I had a Flamethrower coil last 1 day. My stock one lasted 3, and replacement lasted 1. Reconnected that pink wire and bam, everything worked great and I never had a problem.


I used this schematic, minus the pink wire.

Click the image to open in full size.

http://www.mustangsteve.com/durasparkfinal.jpg
__________________

Last edited by 1slow67; 01-03-2012 at 12:43 AM.
1slow67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 12:44 AM   #3
JMD
6th Gear Member
 
JMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Vehicle: 39 Ford
Location: AR
Posts: 5,468
Default

We added a Duraspark II to my son's Falcon, like you said there were a lot of different ways to wire it up on the internet, we ended up ditching the resistor wire and I just wired in a ballast resistor.

It works fine.
__________________
Building cars is EASY, building cars right is a mite bit harder.

JMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 12:48 AM   #4
jp1967stang
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Vehicle: 1965, 1967 mustang coupes, 1965 stang convert
Location: MN
Posts: 426
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=656268542
Default

So is it just the coil that cant handle the 12v so u need a ballast resistor at the coil only? Is their any after market that can handle 12v to the coil?
__________________


jp1967stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:00 PM   #5
frdnut
2nd Gear Member
 
frdnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Vehicle: 68 mustang
Location: Ontario
Posts: 493
Default

I did not cut my resistor wire either..Worked fine for the short time that I used it..
__________________

68 J code 408W topoader with 4:11 detroit locker 11.59 @120.95
frdnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:43 PM   #6
jp1967stang
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Vehicle: 1965, 1967 mustang coupes, 1965 stang convert
Location: MN
Posts: 426
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=656268542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frdnut View Post
I did not cut my resistor wire either..Worked fine for the short time that I used it..
I would of left it if i had the factory harness but i replaced it with a summit so no resistor wire and the whole harness is taped and back in the car. I could add it on the engine side but if all i need is one at the coil then i would rather do that. I did here tho that some duraspark cars used a resistor for the coil and some used a capacitor on the neg side of the coil so run 12v to the coil and their was a little plug that plugged into the neg side. I was told the capacitor was the more common used on fords.
__________________


jp1967stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 05:08 PM   #7
scott_m_mil
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Vehicle: 1966 Mustang Coupe
Location: IA
Posts: 366
Default

I am almost positive I am running straight 12v to everything on my system. I've been running it for about 6 months. I will go home tonight and check it.

One thing to note. I did get a coil for a later model since the original for my 66 was supposed to be used with a resistor. This could be why people were burning up coils.

Scott
scott_m_mil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 05:18 PM   #8
jp1967stang
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Vehicle: 1965, 1967 mustang coupes, 1965 stang convert
Location: MN
Posts: 426
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=656268542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_m_mil View Post
I am almost positive I am running straight 12v to everything on my system. I've been running it for about 6 months. I will go home tonight and check it.

One thing to note. I did get a coil for a later model since the original for my 66 was supposed to be used with a resistor. This could be why people were burning up coils.

Scott
Ya let me know, I am using the ford duraspark 2 stock coil. Got a volt meter possibly check the voltage. Also do u have a capacitor pluged in
__________________


jp1967stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 08:44 PM   #9
scott_m_mil
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Vehicle: 1966 Mustang Coupe
Location: IA
Posts: 366
Default

Well, I stand corrected. I turned the ignition to the 'on' position, put my volt meter to the red wire that powers the coil and the ignition module and it read 6.9V. I'm not sure why I thought it was running 12, but I guess it isn't.

I suppose its possible it may change if the car was actually running, but I wouldn't think so. I could check that for you as well if you like.

Thanks,
Scott
scott_m_mil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 09:21 PM   #10
jp1967stang
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Vehicle: 1965, 1967 mustang coupes, 1965 stang convert
Location: MN
Posts: 426
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=656268542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_m_mil View Post
Well, I stand corrected. I turned the ignition to the 'on' position, put my volt meter to the red wire that powers the coil and the ignition module and it read 6.9V. I'm not sure why I thought it was running 12, but I guess it isn't.

I suppose its possible it may change if the car was actually running, but I wouldn't think so. I could check that for you as well if you like.

Thanks,
Scott
If ya could that would be great i think im going to run 12v to the box and run a resistor to the coil. Did you know if you had a pig tail on the negative side for the resistor?
__________________


jp1967stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 09:21 PM
MustangForums
Ford Mustang




Paid Advertisement

 
 
 
Reply

Tags
1986, 50, bench, box, ch, diagram, duraspark, engine, ford, ll, mustang, test, whi, wire, wires

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Emails Backup