Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

New Here, couple questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2012, 05:41 PM
MarkOPKS

Default New Here, couple questions

Hi all,

I'm new to the Mustang community and have a few questions. First for some background on the project. I am going to be building a 66 or 67 (depends on which car my uncle buys - he's taking the 9-inch rear end out of one of a couple local craigslist cars) 289 coupe. Plans are to turn it into a race-spec-ish mustang. My uncle and I have a lot of parts from a couple previous cars he has purchased, and we are trying to keep this budget as low as possible. Between both of us we will be able to fabricate everything and do bodywork/paint. Also tracking a couple World Class T-5 transmissions and want to use an explorer 8.8 rear end, 4 wheel disc brakes and 17x8 wheels. Shelby drop and new shocks/struts/springs/etc. will be my suspension setup.

My biggest question is the engine build. We have a good 289 block with a good rotating assembly, cylinder walls, pistons, etc. Going to just clean and use. New lifters, timing chain/gear set. Also have a M Select Performance Camshaft:
Intake - 296
Exhaust - 311
Valve Lift Intake - 474
Valve Lift Exh - 498
Duration Intake - 288
Duration Exh - 300
Doing a little bit of reading I feel like this isn't a bad starting place. My goal is to have around 300 HP. Going to likely use the stock or 351w heads and port match. 600-650 cfm 4-barrel carb and a 2-barrel intake. Going with a 45-degree side-exit exhaust in front of the rear wheels with cherry bomb glasspacks.

What do you all think of this? Am I missing anything big here? Thanks in advance for any tips/advice. Looking forward to getting this started when I get home for the summer from school!
Old 01-31-2012, 06:10 PM
1slow67
ROTM Moderator