Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Floor pan help

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2012, 12:02 PM
dmaclaren
2nd Gear Member

Default Floor pan help

Edited to be more clear.

I removed a patch on the front drivers side torque box. It appears that water got between the box and the firewall assembly. So, my goal is to replace as much as I can but I am not into removing the firewall assembly and replacing the torque boxes if they can be spared. I am new to all this and I will be purchasing a mig welder to start learning how to do the welding.

I will need to replace the floor pan, maybe full on the drivers side as it needs front and rear. I was thinking about just the front and rear as I don’t think I can get the sear riser off clean.
So, here are my questions.

1. The bottom, sides of the torque box look very solid. The pieces you see cut below were rusted through. What is left, and I have to clean a little up top, are all back to solid metal.
a. I should be able to patch the torque, right????
2. You can see where I had to go up the firewall to where it’s exposing the engine bay, what do I do there?
3. I am going to have to buy the FLOOR TO FIREWALL EXTENSION (cj pony?) and will have to cut to fit. I was thinking about keeping all the firewall assembly that is still up to the middle of the frame rail and overlap and plug weld (right term?) so I am able to keep that side attached to the frame rail. IS THIS A GOOD IDEA?
4. How do I remove the floor pan from the rocker, I don’t want to mess it up?
5. How did this rust here? Did they not clean it up when they put in the firewall assembly?

The car has been painted and I do not have the ability to really remove the firewall assembly and most likely replace the torque box. I would hire someone if it was bad but they are great except where the piece was rusted out.

Last edited by dmaclaren; 03-04-2012 at 06:49 AM.
Old 03-03-2012, 12:48 PM
dmaclaren
2nd Gear Member