Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

I built some adjustable strut rods

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2012, 08:21 PM
clittleton07

Default I built some adjustable strut rods

I built some adjustable strut rods today.

I also made a bracket so I could bolt them to the lower control arm.

Here is everything before I bolted it in. The spacer is not cut to length yet in this picture.

I think everything turned out alright. I just need to paint it and adjust them tomorrow. The heims are 1/2 inch and the tubing is Chromolly.
Old 05-10-2012, 08:41 PM
Mustangdemon67
4th Gear Member

they look really good. i was actually looking to buy a couple of these but they arnt cheap, and ive been debating if i really need them for just the street driving i do. what else have you done to your front suspension?

oh, nice welding by the way !
Old 05-10-2012, 09:02 PM
clittleton07

Thanks, Im actually a welder by trade. This was my first time welding chromolly but it was just like tigging mild steel. The only modification I have done to the front suspension besides the strut rods is the shelby drop. I have however replaced all the parts except the front springs. I am considering doing a coil over swap in the future and rack and pinion, but I just dont have the bank account for that now.
Old 05-10-2012, 09:29 PM
JamesW

If you wanted to weld up the brackets that attach to the hole in the front (similar to the major brands), and leave the rest to the DIY guys...those brackets would sell like hotcakes....
Old 05-11-2012, 06:27 AM
clittleton07

James,
Im not sure I could make them at a price that would please both the consumers and myself. If i had a CNC plasma It could certainly be done at a reasonable price. I dont know if you could use these bars with a front sway bar either. I imagine that would turn off some buyers.
,Chris
Old 05-11-2012, 06:41 AM
mr_velocity
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by clittleton07
James,