Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

'65 Coupe Father and Son Project

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2012, 06:10 PM
55's 65
1st Gear Member

Default '65 Coupe Father and Son Project

Hey everyone, I am relatively new to this forum and wanted to share the project '65 Coupe that I will be building with my now 12 year old son. It will be his when he turns 16 (as long as he gets straight A's).
I am not a mechanic by trade and do plan on doing all the work that I am capable of so I will definitely be asking for advice along the way!

Old 09-18-2012, 09:44 PM
chris66dad
2nd Gear Member

You are in for a big adventure. Be patient and take your time to teach him and let him do as much as he can while you supervise him. There will be times when you will want to grab the wrench and do it yourself but resist the temptation.

Our father son restoration took 2 1/2 years of working on it every weekend. I was well worth it though.

Take lots of pictures and think about setting up a website and document your progress and as reminder of the time you 2 spent together.

Here is our project:
http://chris66dad.tripod.com/
Old 09-18-2012, 09:59 PM
TRexGAWD
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by chris66dad
You are in for a big adventure. Be patient and take your time to teach him and let him do as much as he can while you supervise him. There will be times when you will want to grab the wrench and do it yourself but resist the temptation.

Our father son restoration took 2 1/2 years of working on it every weekend. I was well worth it though.

Take lots of pictures and think about setting up a website and document your progress and as reminder of the time you 2 spent together.

Here is our project:
This.. I couldn't have said it better... Don't get frustrated too easily..
Old 09-18-2012, 11:25 PM
wgc68nyc
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by 55's 65