Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

1967/94 Mustang

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2012, 05:02 PM
geaganj

Default 1967/94 Mustang

Ok, I'm fairly new to this whole thing, so I'm sure I'm going to ask some stupid questions; please bear with me. I purchased a 67 Coupe with a 289 VIN but it has a 302 out of a 71 Torino with a C4 trans. I don't have much more info than that. We're trying not to dump my kid's college fund into this; we just want a cool, fun toy to enjoy at the car shows or take out for "date night". Anyway, I'd like to have a 67 body and interior with an updated (i.e. EFI) power plant. I'd also like to go to a manual trans.

I have found a 94 GT with the T5 trans that I would like to use as a donor car. From everything I've read, the 5.0 should mount right in and the T5 should be no issue as well. First, what other items can I use from the 94? What kind of modifications would need to be done to make this happen? I'd also like to go to power disc brakes (preferably all around, but specifically in the front). Can I use any or all components from the 94? Like I said, these may be dumb newbie questions, but hey, that's what I am…looking to learn!

Any other suggestions would be great! Thanks in advance for your help!
Old 12-13-2012, 09:59 PM
andrewmp6
6th Gear Member

The t5 won't fit with out cutting a shifter hole in your floor,Its the 93 back t5 that fits a early mustang prefect.The engine you have to change the oil pan and pick up to a front sump and replace the radiator to match the outlets of the engine.On the brakes i haven't seen anyone use those just the cobra brakes and 05 brakes.
Old 12-14-2012, 09:01 AM
geaganj

Thanks Andrew. Quick question...can I use the radiator from the 94 and the oil pan from the 67? He's only asking a thousand for the car, figure the motor & trans alone is worth that, right? I guess I'll get it and just play with it. If it doesn't work, I'll part it out.