Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

1967 mustang 289 hipo motor?

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2013, 06:52 PM
Spears67stang

Default 1967 mustang 289 hipo motor?

Let me start i bought the car on a whim cause i always wanted a 1967 mustang since i was 7 years old im 38 now..so when i found one and it ran..i pounced on it.I didn't check if motor was original ect. it ran sounded awesome so i bought it.

Well i got it home and fixed brake's on it it has all Manuel drum brake's.
Then i decided i need to tune it up and order new plugs wire's laymen stuff as i am no mechanic..
but i had no idea what kind of motor it was lol yeah i know.
I found a receipt for a new fuel pump in glove box that said 289..it had 2 days left on warranty from autozone..so i took it off and told em give me a new one i think it was bad lol..they did so i got new plug's wire's and a valve cover gasket cause one was leaking.
It all runs good now.

But when i had valve covers off i noticed the springs set in little cast cup's and at first i kept looking as to why ive never seen that before.
then i noticed after i had valve cover on my carb on it wasn't running right
so i checked for worn or leaky vacuum hose's to it.so i naturally looked at the distributor and it didnt have any vacuum advanced on it to hook a hose.
So i open it up low and behold it's a dual-point distributor.

Well i took it to my local garage and the man tuning my carb got excited as heck..he said do you realize what in this car i said a 289 motor at least that what fuel pump and valve cover gasket i bought said lol
He said Man this is a 289 hipo motor.. i am like AND? lol
He goes on to tell me how someone would give a left lug nut for the motor...
I was gonna sale it as my wife can't even drive a stick to good lol
Now i am like do i keep it?
sell motor or what do i do...
Btw i checked vid number after all of this came up.