Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

General advice for a new project?

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2013, 02:24 PM
asanchez_hb

Default General advice for a new project?

Hey guys,

I've had my '66 Mustang for a couple of years now but have just finally gotten to a place where I am able to start putting some work into it. The more research I do, the more I am beginning to see that what I want to do is going to be a bit of an overhaul and because I am pretty new to the automotive restoration/restification game I was wondering if I could get some pointers about how to start.

Right now, what I have is a 1966 Mustang with a dual range C4 automatic trans. and a stock 6 cyl. 200 cu. in engine.

This is basically what I am thinking (and I hope it isn't sacrilege!):

I LOVE the look of my car but have never been one who cares for getting a lot of power or speed or noise. What I want is a car that looks good but is dependable, which for me includes things like maximizing MPG and installing better brakes and steering, etc.
Truth is I'm not completely sure where to start, because I'm unsure what modifications are going to help improve things like MPG. What I've gathered from some preliminary research is that there aren't a lot of improvement mods for my engine type, so I'm looking to improve that first. It appears as though a V8 is the way to go, because even though that might have an initial drop in MPG, could the mods available to it bring it up to a better place than my V6 is now?

Anyway, that's basically where my head is. I don't care as much about restoring the car to its original glory, or (as I said before) maximizing its power or speed necessarily. I care about making my car look good and run well; I want this to be my day-to-day car. I'd really appreciate any advice you can give me!

Thanks so much.

Andrew
Old 06-20-2013, 03:27 PM
fastbackford351
Foghorn Leghorn