MustangForums.com

MustangForums.com (http://mustangforums.com/forum/index.php)
-   Classic Mustangs (Tech) (http://mustangforums.com/forum/classic-mustangs-tech-16/)
-   -   Help please 73 grande starting by it's self (http://mustangforums.com/forum/classic-mustangs-tech/698165-help-please-73-grande-starting-by-its-self.html)

michaelyerry 07-15-2013 01:42 PM

Help please 73 grande starting by it's self

I have been restoring this car for two years, it had been running great for about a year the other day the battery died on so i went to jump the car the car started as soon as the jump cables were hooked up the keys were not even in the ignition. I thought it was the ignition switch so i changed that today but the same thing keeps happening. I need to sell this car to get a car that is better for a college student. Please help!

120mm 07-15-2013 01:53 PM

Starter solenoid stuck "on".

Starters are relatively cheap. Have it tested at the local auto parts place (they do it for free) or just buy a new one.

jimkaray 07-15-2013 02:54 PM

The starter relay (not technically called a solenoid when mounted remotely) is stuck closed. Give it a sharp strike with a screwdriver handle and it should unstick it. You'll find it on the fender apron right behind the battery. The short positive cable runs to it and then a long one down to the starter. Get it replaced asap.
Here is an one so its top dollar, should be $15 - $20 at your local AP store or RockAuto.com

120mm 07-15-2013 06:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimkaray (Post 8248353)
The starter relay (not technically called a solenoid when mounted remotely) is stuck closed. Give it a sharp strike with a screwdriver handle and it should unstick it. You'll find it on the fender apron right behind the battery. The short positive cable runs to it and then a long one down to the starter. Get it replaced asap.
Here is an NOS one so its top dollar, should be $15 - $20 at your local AP store or RockAuto.com