Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

c4 transmission to AOD

Old 10-25-2013, 12:23 AM
jnlogan89

Default c4 transmission to AOD

I just got a 1965 Mustang 289, and I plan on doing a restomod. This is my first project, so I am pretty new to this. I have pretty much decided to replace the c4 tranny with an AOD, but I have a few questions about the process. To start, I am wondering where I should begin shopping for one. Online there seems to be a wide range as far as prices go. This leads me to think some sites are over charging and some sites may be trying to sell a piece of junk. I'd like to find a good price for a good product, so where should I look? Secondly, once I have an AOD transimission, is there any other parts necessary to install it? (assuming it comes with a new torque converter).
Old 10-25-2013, 12:46 AM
rmodel65
Yukon Cornelius

you will need a flex plate with a 28 ounce balance(assuming you have a stock engine) if i remember correctly the flex plate from 1970-73 mustang with an FMX will fit your needs

youll need an adapter for the tv cable(its not a kick down it adjusts line pressure if its not set right you will burn up the transmission) i think lokar makes them

crossmember for the AOD

and you might possibly have to shorten the driveshaft

possibly exhaust work if the pipes are in the way

Last edited by rmodel65; 10-25-2013 at 12:55 AM.
Old 10-25-2013, 06:13 AM
Boogie's_AutoRama
1st Gear Member

I have an AOD in my '66, pulled it out of a '80 Crown Vic.
Drive shaft fit right back.
Made my own cross member.
AOD is way fatter than a C-4 and had to tweak my twice-pipes.

I forgot what flywheel I used, but I think it was also out of the same Crn Vic.
Found a rod for the kick-down lever out of some other Ford.