Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

New kid on the block

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2013, 04:49 PM
StrifeWolfe

Default New kid on the block

Hey everyone! I'm new to the Mustang Forums because I'm looking for some advice. And before you jump to conclusions based on my age, believe me when I say, I have plenty of experience working with automobiles.
So, I currently have a 1972 MG B with a Mustang Cobra 302 wedged in thanks to help from my grandfather and his friend who is a retired machinist. Me an my grandfather have been building cars for a while, whether it was the Vette I watched him build when I was a newborn, or the 1969 Buick Special I helped him rebuild from the frame up at age 3. But the MG has been my favorite by far. I'm only 5'5" and 120lbs so the car fits perfectly and has an amazing power to weight ratio.
But for my next project, I want a 1971-1973 Ford Mustang Mach 1. I would like to do a frame up rebuild after I finish school, but I'd prefer it to be beat and cheap to prevent hunting for parts. I'm already familiar with JC Whitney, Jegs, Summit Racing, Rock Auto, and CJ Pony Parts, thanks to the MG and my daily driver, 2003 Dodge Grand Caravan Sport. But I want some inside advice from the people who know far more about the Stang than I do. I do know I'd like to do a 302, preferably the modern Boss 302 crate motor, and I want to link it to a C4 trans. I'm not looking for a drag car, and I don't need it to be all original. I'm looking for a Resto/Mod project that will suit me and maybe allow me to finally recycle the old van. I'm all ears.
Old 12-09-2013, 05:20 PM
ajzride
1st Gear Member

Well you are in luck. It looks like the coyote should fit in the 71/73 mustangs with the proper oil pan:

http://www.mustangandfords.com/techa...he_pushrod_v8/