Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

What do i need to pump up my 351W?

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2014, 05:46 AM
Steffan

Default What do i need to pump up my 351W?

Hi Guys,

Note: This is my first time trying to get more performance out of an engine, so I know absolutely nothing about it. I have a mechanic helping me changing the parts though.

I just got myself a '70 Mach 1, and really happy with it. except for one thing.. it's so freaking slow... has ~200HP.

Engine is stock. except for the intake manifold (Edelbrock #7581, RPM air-gap) and the carburetor (some new edelbrock 750CFM)

I want to get the engine to about 400-450HP, and I found that the Edelbrock top end kit #2090 would get me there (443 HP)

Note: On Edelbrock's website I found the following writing: "Because of the high rpm (above 5500) capabilities of this package, a high-volume oil pump, adjustable rocker arms & high-performance pistons with 9.5:1 compression are recommended."

The questions I have:
  1. Is the Edelbrock top-end kit #2090 the best choice for my stock 351W?
  2. The kit does not include the lifters, which ones would be a great set for this top end kit? I found Edelbrock #97453, are they any good for this?
  3. The top end kit does also not include Rocker arms, do I need a set to replace the stock ones, or are stock good enough? (are Edelbrock #77780 what I need? They are not "adjustable" which was recommended?)
  4. Do i need new pistons also?
  5. Do i need a new oil pump?
  6. Do i need anything else, that is not in my questions above?

If someone could tell me what i need, and why. I would really appreciate it!
Old 05-15-2014, 02:10 PM
69mach1377
5th Gear Member

Are you sure it's a W? They had C's as well in 1970.
How much compression is each cylinder providing?
Old 05-15-2014, 02:44 PM
Steffan

Originally Posted by 69mach1377
Are you sure it's a W? They had C's as well in 1970.