Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

What do i need to stroke my 351w? and what gear ratio is best?

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2014, 07:53 AM
Steffan

Default What do i need to stroke my 351w? and what gear ratio is best?

Hello,

I am hoping some performance tuning experts in here will help me understand this.
Please note, that i am new to building engines, but i have a mechanic helping me put the parts in/on.. but still, please explain everything like i am a 5 year old.

I am trying to get my 1970 Mach1 351w to ~400-450HP and better low-end power.
The car is used for daily driving >65MPH and a little highway 65-75MPH, and i would like to still be able to drive like that, without the engine blowing up.

My engine has a Edelbrock "RPM Air-gap" (#7581) intake manifolt and the carburator is a Edelbrock 750CFM. Everything else looks stock.
I also have some new Headers laying around i plan on putting on too.

A top-end kit was my first thought, since it seems like the easiest way to get more HP.
But a lot of people suggested that i do the following instead of buying a top-end kit:

- Stroke it to 393 CUI or 408CUI
- higher gear ratio in the back, to give better low-rpm performance

I have the following questions:

1. What gear ratio would be the best for my driving, without hitting an insane RPM when driving 65-75MPH
2. Do i need different gear ratio's when stroking the engine that if it's not stroked? i can i change the gears first and then stroke it later without any problems?
3. Where can i buy a gear kit? i can't seem to find them. (if you know an European shop, that would be awesome)
4. 393 CUI or 408 CUI stroke? some say that 408 gives less high-rpm HP and only little extra low-end torque, so it's not worth the money
5. What do i need to stroke my engine besides a stroke kit?
6. Do i have to do anything to the top end when stroking the engine? (my specifications on current setup in top of post)