Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

390 suddenly stops running

Old 07-15-2014, 07:15 PM
jckinthebox

Default 390 suddenly stops running

I have a 1968 coupe with a 390/C6 that I have been restoring for a couple years and I was a few hours away from road worthy when all of a sudden the 390 that had been gotten to running decent developed a severe chop to the idle and stalled. I tried restarting it while giving it some gas and stomping on the pedal made virtually no difference, it sound like all of a sudden its decided to run on a couple cylinders here and there..

We pulled the valve covers off and all rockers looked fine. Checked compression, all good. Replaced coil checked spark plugs and wires. Im about out of ideas, any help as to what in the world my issue could be would be helpful.

Thanks,
Jack
Old 07-15-2014, 08:52 PM
jmk3
3rd Gear Member

I had a similar situation with my 68. Would run good for a while then die suddenly. I hooked it up to a battery charger and it stayed running turned out there was not enough voltage at idle and it would stall. The funny part was the battery would start the car fine but not keep it running. Hook up a charger if you have one and see if it helps.
Old 07-15-2014, 09:34 PM
jckinthebox

I'm fairly certain that the battery isn't an issue, like I said it's been running fine for a while and then decided to quit on me, I'm thinking more along the lines of a timing chain issue or maybe a distributor. Are either if those p
Old 07-15-2014, 09:35 PM
jckinthebox

*possibilities?
Old 07-16-2014, 02:17 AM
boogerschnot
5th Gear Member