Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Intake valve gunk removal help

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2015, 11:14 PM
Gun Jam

Default Intake valve gunk removal help

This issue occurred directly after switching to aluminum heads. I have been running these heads for about two years. My iron heads did not seem to have this issue.

Upon switching to the AL heads after about 2000 miles or less I had a lifter collapse and that required removal of the head. Upon inspection of the head I noticed gunk built up on the back side of the intake valves. It is soft and tar like and dissolves with carb cleaner fairly easily. All intake valves have equal amounts of gunk on them.

Today I got a bore scope and was curious about the progress of this gunk. It looks about the same it has not increased or decreased.

The engine runs well and my carb tune is as good as I can get.

I usually use chevron mid grade fuel in California. In cold weather (50s or hot (105s) makes no difference on this gunk accumulation.

I would like this crap to go away...Do you think I would have success with a fuel additive to clean this junk off? Seafoam? or something else?

Thanks for your input

Here are some bore scope photos as best I could capture being run down the intake.
Attached Thumbnails Intake valve gunk removal help-54bdb2a0.jpg   Intake valve gunk removal help-54bdb34c.jpg   Intake valve gunk removal help-54bdb2af.jpg  
Old 01-20-2015, 02:03 PM
Starfury
6th Gear Member

That's what things like seafoam and techron are supposed to do.

Personally, I'd use Seafoam. Slowly pour half of a bottle down a big vacuum line (PCV, brake booster, etc) with the engine running. Dump the last half of the bottle in the gas tank.
Old 01-20-2015, 04:08 PM
barnett468
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Gun Jam
I would like this crap to go away...Do you think I would have success with a fuel additive to clean this junk off? Seafoam? or something else?