Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Boss or Not???

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2015, 12:46 PM
rainymorning

Default Boss or Not???

I just bought a 1969 Fastback with a brand new 2nd generation 302 engine. I'd like to put decals on the car that have "302" or "boss 302" on them; however, because the car is not an original boss, I don't know if it would be offensive to the "real" boss owners...I'm brand new to classic car ownership and I want to use good etiquette. Can someone advise?
Old 04-14-2015, 02:23 PM
barnett468
4th Gear Member

i hope it pisses the heck out of some but i doubt it will, lol . . good etiquette is people that either compliment you on your car or simply say nothing . . bad etiquette is some a hole that starts pickin on it for any reason whatsoever . . everyone here will tell you the same thing . . its your car and your money so do whatever you want with total disregard for what others want you to do.
Old 04-14-2015, 02:57 PM
rainymorning

Thank you so much....I am way excited!!!!
Old 04-14-2015, 03:46 PM
Starfury
6th Gear Member

I'm usually of the "do it your own way" philosophy...but I have to draw the line here.

"Boss" really does mean something to the community. It's not just a trim package, it's a motor, and it's rare. By plastering Boss decals on you're car, you're claiming you have a Boss motor. You don't. It would be the same as putting "Hemi" decals on a Charger with a 318 (which is not a Hemi, for the non Mopar-literate). It's flat out not what it says it is.

Can you do it? Sure, it's a free country. Is anybody else going to appreciate it? No.
Old 04-14-2015, 03:57 PM
rainymorning