Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Has anyone ever done a Ford C6 Swap?

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2006, 11:52 PM
slickman
5th Gear Member

Default Has anyone ever done a Ford C6 Swap?

Has anyone ever done a Ford C6 Swap into a 65 - 66 Mustang? Also, how is the C6 deferent from a AOD? Is the swap about the same for both coming from a C4 setup?
Old 02-26-2006, 11:54 PM
tylerdru
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Has anyone ever done a Ford C6 Swap?

I have heard that the c6 wasnt very high quality. the c4 was much stronger and durable. but what do i know?

Okay i have no clue where i heard that.
Old 02-26-2006, 11:58 PM
JBradley500
3rd Gear Member

The C6 is the trans that they put in big block cars. its more able to take high torque and hose power but im not saying that its a better transmission, because i have no experience with c6's.
Old 02-27-2006, 12:17 AM
bdwjdw
2nd Gear Member

You can build a C4 to hold up to just about anything you want. I don't know this for sure but you will probably have to do some modification to your car to fit a C6 in it.
Old 02-27-2006, 12:19 AM
6mustang6
5th Gear Member

yeah, almost all C6's were in big block cars. I have heard that there are some rare small block C6's. They are just a regular three speed tranny while a AOD has more gears right???
Old 02-27-2006, 12:57 AM
Baker
1st Gear Member

C6 is a beast (in a good way) tranny. According to my data plates my stang should have a C6 mated to the 351C v2, how ever someone slapped an FMX behind it (it's hard enough to get parts for a cleveland, but an FMX, foreget about it). The C6 Designed for big cars, trucks and handling loads of torque. It is heavier and takes a larger chunk of your engine horsepower to operate. Build yourself a bullet-proof C4, or go withh an AOD (although I understand AOD swaps are a pain).

My two cents worth.
Old 02-27-2006, 01:27 AM
BillyBobJoe
4th Gear Member