Detailing Discuss detailing and the appearance of your ride inside and out here.

proper way to dry a car?

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2014, 09:17 PM
runstang22
1st Gear Member

after cleaning, a regular terry cloth towel is good enough to dry it. As it gets moist it will be better at not creating dry bead spots. This works as long as you have a few coats of wax on the car. When the car is clean and still wet, take it for a trip around the block then dry it.
Before you take it to a detail shop at the dealer, who is gonna charge you over $100, think about investing in an electrical orbital polisher for $40 for a 7" and some 8" 3M waffle pads for about $30. Buy it all online.
Both Mothers and Meguires make good products for polishing and swirl remover.
I win awards at car shows all the time for my car and I've been doing this for several years. My dad who has over 49 years body repair swears by Farcla total car care for a polish. You must get a good swirl remover if you use that. Both of those will cost about $80 enough to do 2 cars, but I promise that you will like the results. You have to go online to get Farcla, it comes in from Europe.
Old 04-11-2014, 07:58 AM
iMuf
1st Gear Member

If you don't want to install swirls that means not touching the paint as much as possible. The best way to dry a car while not touching the car is....air. Metro is a great company that makes vacuums and blowers. And some that do both. I have one that does both and when I want to dry my car I pull it out and blow dry my car. The more you touch the paint the more swirls you will have down the road. when you do touch the paint you generally don't want to use anything that isn't micro fiber, be it your towels, wash mitt, etc.