General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

how to get a '99-'04 GT to around 450rwhp?

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2011, 01:09 AM
beenen

Default how to get a '99-'04 GT to around 450rwhp?

was doing some research about these cars before buying one..just asking you guys what mods will it take to make these 4.6 GT to get around 450 rwhp?

I know I will be getting long tube headers for sure..but what else?

and it is safe for stock internals pushing that kind of HP?

thanks for any advice
Old 09-24-2011, 06:13 AM
scott4.6
2nd Gear Member

the best way is to , supercharge it or a turbo set up. you can not and will not be able to do it with just bolt ons. a fully bolt on gt will only put down around 260 to 270 wheel hp. now with cams and sone trick flow heads you should have around 330 wheel hp.im new to the mustang so i could be a little off. some one that has had a mustang longer than me will chime in soon im sure. look in my sig, i will be lucky to have 250 whp
Old 09-24-2011, 09:22 AM
arabianobsession
2nd Gear Member

Modular Mustang Racing does a full race port and polish on Trick Flow heads that adds about 90 hp, and they will also port and polish the aluminum intake you can pick up, which adds about 30-40 more hp. Check out their site-they can work some pretty awesome magic for NA setups: http://modularmustangracing.com

I have heard that stock internals can handle that much hp, but too much more and it's time to upgrade.
Old 09-24-2011, 09:39 AM
lizzyfan
Underboss

Originally Posted by arabianobsession
Modular Mustang Racing does a full race port and polish on Trick Flow heads that adds about 90 hp, and they will also port and polish the aluminum intake you can pick up, which adds about 30-40 more hp.
Not gonna even come close to 450rwhp
S/C or turbo is only option
Old 09-24-2011, 09:42 AM
arabianobsession
2nd Gear Member