General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.

Wheel - Brake Noise at LOW speed

Old 09-30-2011, 07:54 PM
chaznsc

Default Wheel - Brake Noise at LOW speed

Hi,
I have an 07 convertible v6 pony, had it about 5 months. Its developed a noise thats the best I can describe as a SCRITCH-SCRATCH sound when I am braking HOWEVER, its only the last revolution or two of the wheels. It sounds like the rear wheels but I wouldn't bet the car on that. Its not loud, but it is troubling. I had it looked at by my mechanic and he says the brakes have 75% of the pad remaining, bla bla bla. I dont know what all they did to inspect but they are generally very good at thoroughness. From my own inspection the rotors on the outside look nice and smooth. I am NOT a mechanic.

I thought I'd throw it out here to see if anyone had some insight into this.

chaz_
Old 10-03-2011, 10:11 AM
Demonhead
1st Gear Member

Maybe the clips that hold your pads in place are broken. My rear left one is broken right now and it makes a chirp brake noise when lightly pressing the brakes. Take off your brake pads and inspect the clips. If they are cracked or anything replace them. Autozone has them for cheap. You'd have to buy the brake caliper hardware kit. Which is cheap.
Old 10-03-2011, 03:26 PM
03FASTGT
1st Gear Member

I would take it apart to inspect. It just takes basic hand tools. Clean your disc's with brake cleaner (back and front) and rough up your pads a bit with a fine grit sand paper. Should take 10 minutes a side if you have jack+jackstands, and basic handtools.
Old 03-20-2012, 10:21 AM
chaznsc

Originally Posted by Demonhead